Already, we’re starting new projects.

The other night, Hook proposed that we start a new project — to cook one recipe per week from one of the food magazines we receive. At present, we get Bon Appetit and Food Network Magazine, both of which subscriptions were gifted to us, but we used to receive Eating Well, too. (I have to remind myself to reorder E.W.) And, who am I kidding? I’m tempted to order Saveur.

I’m on board with Hook’s plan. I agree that, as long as we’re getting these magazines, we might as well make [token] use of them. That, and we’ve backslid into a serious Comfort Food Consumption Pattern (CFCP) in recent days — think buffalo Boca nuggets, Quadratini wafer cookies, mostly unadorned pasta eaten by the light of the TV. College kid cooking (if you can call it cooking). To our credit, Hook has been busy at work and I’ve been sick. Also to our credit was the nostalgathon dinner we prepared Thursday night: oven fries from Idaho potatoes and grilled cheese (sourdough + pepper jack + sliced tomato). Hook had never before prepared his own grilled cheese: can you believe this? He has now, at least.

The beauty of butter? Um, yes plz.

Anyway. H. and I will be scanning for recipes this afternoon, trying to decide which one will become this week’s experimental dinner. Hint: we probably won’t choose anything from Food Network — a goodly portion of their “recipes” consist of nothing more than tossing cooked green beans with pesto, or adding sautéed veggies to pasta. Hrmmm…

Exciting news! I’m now part of Kath’s blogroll. For those of you who don’t know, Kath Younger is an RD, baker, recipe creator, and oatmeal aficionado who began blogging way back in 2006 to document her journey toward a healthier lifestyle. I began reading Kath Eats Real Food about two and a half years ago at the outset of my own program to eat cleaner, quit smoking, and get to the gym more than once every six months; I’m still an avid reader. It was through reading Kath’s blog that I learned how to cook wheatberries and that I familiarized myself with overnight oats. (Note: though I prefer cold cereal in the morning, I may return to OO to enliven my stale brekkie routine.)

When, a few days ago, Kath posted that she’d be updating her blogroll and that those wishing to be included could send along their info, I was stoked! I emailed Kath right away and I’m glad that she saw fit to include me in her roster. Thank you, Kath, for the inclusion.

That’s all the news for now. If I were into football, I might have planned some excellent Superbowl-attuned cooking project, but no dice. Well, some dice: I might still find occasion to eat nachos (or chug a few beers), but football will be the farthest thing from my mind.

2 responses to “Already, we’re starting new projects.

  1. Yesterday, I made, for the second time, Martha’s Everyday Food slow cooker Buffalo Chicken from my monthly mag. It is really yummy and was a hit at the superb owl party I went to! : )

    I should add that cold breakfast may be suitable in NorCal, but when I feel like it’s warm outside because it’s 35 degrees today (wow!), hot oatmeal is the way to go. We buy our oats from Amish people. They’re yum.

  2. Slow cooker Buffalo Chicken, eh? Would you mind forwarding me that recipe? I don’t have my Crock Pot here, but I’ve been thinking of buying one. (I used to make BBQ ribs in my slow cooker and they were soooooo good.)

    I definitely go through oatmeal phases: there was a good four-month stint during which I ate oatmeal for dinner a few times a week. I don’t often eat it for breakfast, though, because if I’m going to the gym I have to be out the door by 5:30 (eeeek!). But I do love a good bowl of oats with some chocolate hazelnut granola mixed in 🙂 Also, the oatmeal at ‘wichcraft is really, really good (which owes to the brown sugar butter, I think).

Leave a Reply

