Sufferin’ Succotash

I’m not sure how, but I got it into my head to make succotash for dinner. Perhaps I was subconsciously recalling (with great fondness) the first meal Alex cooked for me, or maybe I was influenced by the black-eyed peas I got at Whole Foods this weekend. Wherever the inspiration sprang from, it stuck in my brain for days.

Disclaimer: The recipe I’m about to share might not be considered a true succotash. It contains neither kidney beans nor lima beans nor lard. Purists, give me the benefit of the doubt — try this loose adaptation of the classic dish, and maybe you’ll relax your definitional standards a bit.Garky’s Succotash

Ingredients

  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • Two sausages, cut into coins. (I used organic chicken andouille, but use whatever sounds good to ye.)
  • Two cups fresh corn, removed from cob
  • One can black-eyed peas, rinsed and drained
  • One medium jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced
  • One Anaheim pepper, seeded and diced
  • Several green onions, finely chopped
  • The usual spice suspects: salt and pepper, red pepper flakes, ancho chile powder, maybe a sprinkle of brown sugar

Method

  1. Pour a bit of oil into a good-sized skillet and wait for the oil to heat. Once oil is hot, add sausage coins to the pan. How long you cook the sausage depends on what type you’re using; I had a pre-cooked variety, so I just cooked it until it was nice and brown. If you’re starting with raw sausage, though, let it go for a while. No food poisoning here!
  2. Add your corn, onions, peppers, and beans to the skillet, scraping any sausage brownings from the bottom of the pan. Mix ingredients well.
  3. Add your spices! I may have added too many red pepper flakes, but that’s nothing new. Incorporate spices into succotash.
  4. Let your succotash cook for a bit. The sausage is cooked already, and the veggies don’t need that much stove-time, so a few minutes is all you need.
  5. Serve with a cold beer and cornbread (if you have these things)

Simple, no? And delicious. I totally had porcini mushrooms that I meant to add but FORGOT — next time, I’m adding mushrooms to the mix. This batch of succotash was mighty flavorful, but the mushrooms would have made it even more savory. That’s OK: I have another plan for those mushrooms…

Leave a Reply

